Skip to content


Minto Island Bridge wins Grand Award at ACEC Engineering Excellence Awards!

At the 2018 ACEC Engineering Excellence Awards in Portland, OBEC’s Peter Courtney Minto Island Bicycle and Pedestrian Bridge project won a “Grand Award”! It was stiff competition of recent high-profile projects, so it’s quite an honor to win a “Grand Award”, and it’s a great way to wrap up the hard work that OBEC and our team put into this project. This is the second award we’ve won for Minto, which also earned an APWA Oregon Project of the Year Award a few months ago.

Larry Fox, Guy Hakanson, Bob Goodrich, Jim Bollman, Amy Jones, James Stupfel were all on hand to accept the award along with Aaron Kimsey from the City of Salem, Nick Paveglio of GeoDesign, and Jeff Howell and Todd Ross from Legacy Contracting.

Check out the gallery below to see our entry poster, which was on display at last night’s event, as well as some photos of the project.

In addition, the Newberg-Dundee Bypass project received an “Honor Award” last night. OBEC was a major subconsultant on this project completing 50% of the design and checking work.